In order to obtain the LL.M. degree, students must successfully complete two semesters of mandatory and intensive taught modules, while conducting -under the supervision of our academic staff- legal research which shall lead to the production of an original item of written work in the form of a dissertation.

The taught part of the LLM Programme is divided into two semesters (winter and spring). In each semester, four (4) core and many optional modules are offered. For the successful completion of the programme students must obtain 75 ECTS. For that reason, they should attend two (2) core and two (2) other modules in each semester (60 ECTS in total), chosen from a list of modules which cover the most important legal issues in their specialization. In order to cover the credit requirements pertaining to the required modules, LL.M. candidates may choose one (1) module (core or optional) in each semester from the other LL.M course, that they do not attend. Moreover, all students of both LL.M. courses shall attend a compulsory seminar (2 ECTS) which shall run in the first 4 weeks of the spring semester. The remaining credits (13 ECTS) are covered by the successful submission of the dissertation which must be produced during the summer period (mid-June – late September). Further information regarding the curriculum can be found in the respective course description (Private Law & Business Transactions, International & European Law).

The LL.M. courses start on 1 October and last until the first two weeks of June. The written or oral examinations take place in February and June, upon completion of each semester. Students may re-sit a failed examination in September following the end of the academic year. The Master thesis shall be submitted by 30 September of the year during which the spring semester takes place.